Hopefuls filing for Jesse Jackson Jr.’s seat

Staff Writer

Candidates began officially filing for a spot on the ballot to replace Jesse Jackson Jr. as the Second District’s congressman.

Seven candidates have filed petitions with the Illinois State Board of Elections. The special election to replace Jackson has been combined with the Feb. 26 primary.

Current candidates filing include Ald. Anthony Beale (9th); State Rep. Toi Hutchinson of Olympia Fields; state Sen.-elect and former NFL player Napoleon Harris of Flossmoor; former congressman Mel Reynolds, who held the seat before Jackson but resigned after Reynolds was convicted of statutory rape; former state Rep. Robin Kelley of Matteson; Victor Jonathan — formerly called Victor Onafyue — a Nigerian immigrant and South Side pastor and Clifford Eagleton, of Harvey.

Hutchinson, Eagleton, Harris, Beale and Kelly were in line in Springfield by 8 a.m. on Jan. 3, making them eligible for the lottery for the top position on the ballot.