Murray kudos

By Daschell M. Phillips
Staff Writer

Murray Elementary School and Dyett High School received honors from the Illinois State Board of Education as part of the Illinois Honor Roll, which celebrates the accomplishments of exemplary Illinois public schools.

Murray, 5335 S. Kenwood Ave., and Dyett, 555 E. 51st St., are two of 75 CPS schools that earned 78 awards in this year’s Honor Roll. The awards are given in three different categories such as the Illinois Spotlight School for high-poverty, high-performing schools that are beating the odds and overcoming the achievement gap; the Academic Improvement Award for schools that show substantial improvement and the Academic Excellence Award for schools that have sustained high performance over at least three years.

Murray was recognized as an Illinois Spotlight School and Dyett received an Academic Improvement Award.