HPHS seeks nominations

The Hyde Park Historical Society is seeking nominations for its annual Paul Cornell and Marian and Leon Despres awards through Oct. 28.

The awards will be presented at the Hyde Park Historical Society’s annual dinner on Feb. 2 at the Quadrangle Club, 1155 E. 57th St. Past Paul Cornell Award recipients include Hyde Park Herald publisher Bruce Sagan and historian Timuel Black. Despres Awards have been given to their namesake couple and Washington Park preservationist Victoria Ranney.

The Paul Cornell Award recognizes individuals and organizations whose work exemplifies the society’s values and objectives: recording Hyde Park’s history, promoting public interest in it, education and preserving the neighborhood’s artifacts and documents. The Marian and Leon Despres Award is given to individuals, institutions or organizations for outstanding achievements in the preservation of architectural heritage within the onetime boundaries of Hyde Park Township — an area spanning 35th through 139th streets and State Street to Lake Michigan.

To nominate someone for the Cornell Award, give their name and address to Frances Vandervoort by calling 773-752-8374, e-mailing vandersand@sbcglobal.net or sending a letter to: 5471 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago IL 60615. The names and addresses of Leon Despres Award nominees may be given to Jack Spicer over the phone, 773-324-5476, via e-mail, jackspicer@earthlink.net, or in a letter: 5536 S. Kimbark Ave., Chicago IL 60637.