U. of C. economists win Nobel

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced today that two University of Chicago faculty members along with a Yale University Faculty member won the Noble Prize in Economics.

The University of Chicago’s Eugene Fama and Lars Peter Hansen along with Yale’s Robert Shiller won the prize for developing new methods to study trends in asset markets.

The award is not, strictly speaking, a Nobel Prize but was created by Sweden’s Central Bank in 1968 to be awarded alongside the prizes established by industrialist Alfred Nobel in 1895.

To see a list of other Nobel winners, visit the academy’s page at kva.se/en.