Hyde Park candidates file for Illinois primary

The Illinois State Board of Elections has released a final list of candidates whose names will appear on the ballot in the state’s March 18 primary.

The roster, released last week after the Dec. 2 deadline to file, features 11 candidates who will run in districts including the Hyde Park and South Kenwood neighborhoods:

In the 1st Congressional District, incumbent Bobby L. Rush, a Chicago Democrat, will run unopposed. Republican Jimmy Lee Tillman, of Chicago, will also run unopposed.

In the 2nd Congressional District, incumbent Robin Kelly, a Matteson Democrat, will run against Marcus Lewis, of Matteson, and Charles Rayburn, of Dolton. Republic Eric M. Wallace, of Flossmoor, will run unopposed.

In the 25th Representative District, House Majority Leader Barbara Flynn Currie will run unopposed. Republican Juan Antonio Diaz, of Chicago, will also run unopposed.

In the 26th Representative District, incumbent Christian L. Mitchell, of Chicago, will run against Jhatayn “Jay” Travis, also of Chicago. Republican Jacob “Coby” Hakalir, of Chicago, will run unopposed.