Local teachers are awarded

Teacher receives Golden Apple honor at U. of C. Lab Schools, 1362 E. 59th St. Kristin Frank, 5th grade teacher at the University of Chicago Laboratory Lower School, received the Golden Apple Teacher of Distinction Award.

In addition to annually naming 10 recipients of the Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching, the Golden Apple Foundation also recognizes Teachers of Distinction, award finalists whose superior teaching work was additionally noted by the selection committee.

Teachers of Distinction are recognized for their distinguished contribution to teaching and are asked to participate in the Golden Apple program. The Teachers of Distinction and 10 Golden Apple Award winners are selected from a pool of 892 teachers.

Faculty and graduate students receive honors for their teaching and mentor work at the University of Chicago, 5801 S. Ellis Ave.

Every year, the university honors members of the faculty who exhibit exemplary teaching and mentoring to graduate students with the Faculty Awards for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring.

The winners are nominated by their students and their department or program chair, and are chosen by a committee.

This year’s winners include:

  • Leora Auslander, professor of modern European social history, a member of the Center for Jewish Studies and the founding director of the Center for Gender Studies.
  • Susan Gal, researcher of language, politics and gender, with a focus on social transformations in Eastern Europe.
  • Aden Kumler, associate professor in Art History and the College and the faculty co-sponsor of the University of Chicago Medieval Studies Workshop.
  • Patchen Markell, associate professor of political science. 
  • David Mazziotti, professor in chemistry.

The College honored the 2014 recipients of the prestigious Quantrell Awards and Booth Prizes at a May 28 reception, in which five faculty members and four graduate students were recognized for their devotion to teaching undergraduates.

Winners of the Quantrell Awards, which is considered to be the nation’s oldest prize for undergraduate teaching and one of the highest honors that the university can bestow on a member of its faculty, include:

  • Daniel Brudney, professor in Philosophy and the College and associate faculty in the Divinity School and the Maclean Center for Medical Ethics, studies political philosophy and its history, philosophy and literature, bioethics and ethics.
  • Gregory Dwyer, assistant professor in Ecology and Evolution.
  • Anne Henly, senior lecturer in the Social Sciences Collegiate Division and the Department of Psychology.
  • David Mazziotti, professor in Chemistry.
  • John E. Woods, professor of Iranian and Central Asian History, and of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations and the College.

The Wayne C. Booth Graduate Student Prizes for Excellence in Teaching, established in 1991, recognize excellent teaching of undergraduates by graduate students. College students and faculty members nominate the recipients.

Winners of the Booth award include:

  • Nicole James, chemistry student who also serves as a teaching assistant in Honors General Chemistry.
  • Elizabeth Emelene Jefferis, Ph.D. candidate in sociology and graduate cum laude from New York University as a sociology minor and a drama major.
  • Laura Merwin, graduate student in the lab of Joy Bergelson, chair of Ecology and Evolution, studies how plants adapt to different environments.
  • Daniel Pratt, Ph.D. graduate who studied Slavic languages and literature.