State Representative of the 25th District candidate endorsements announced as primary election draws near

Staff Writer

Endorsements have been announced for several candidates running for State Representative of the 25th District in the primary election March 20, 2018.

There are seven candidates vying for the seat occupied by State Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie (D-25). She will not run in the next election.

The seven candidates running include Angelique Collins, Adrienne Irmer, Grace Chan McKibben, Anne Marie Miles, Flynn Rush, Curtis Tarver II and William Calloway.

The 25th House District includes Hyde Park, Kenwood, Woodlawn, South Shore, South Chicago and East Side.

These are the endorsements that have been reported to the Herald.

Endorsements for Adrienne Irmer:
Ald. Leslie Hairston (5th), Former Senate President Emil Jones (D-Chicago), Former State Sen. Donne Trotter (D-17th), State Rep. Will Davis (D-30th), State Rep. Marcus Evans (D-33rd), Ald. Susan Sadlowski Garza (10th), MWRD Commissioner Debra Shore, Amalgamated Transit Union Local 241, The Chicago Sun-Times, Chicago Teachers Union, Cook County Democratic Women, Ida B. Wells Legacy Committee, Illinois Federation of Teachers, Illinois Nurses Association, Illinois Sierra Club, UNITE Here Local 1

Endorsements for Flynn Rush:
Congressman Bobby L. Rush (D-1), Congressman Danny K. Davis (D-7), Congressman Luis Gutierrez, 4th Congressional District, Former US Senator and Ambassador Hon. Carol Moseley-Braun, State Rep. Al Riley Jr. (D-38), Cook County Commissioner Richard Boykin, (D-1st), Cook County Commissioner Luis Arroyo, Jr. (D-8th), Treasurer of the City of Chicago Kurt Summers Jr., Reverend Jesse L. Jackson, Sr., Rainbow P.U.S.H. Coalition, Metropolitan Apostolic Church Dr. Leon Finney, Jr., Lincoln United Methodist Pastor Emma Lozano, Illinois Restaurant Association, The Soul Slate, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 134, Chicago Laborers District Council No. 14, International Union of Painters and Allied Trades, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers, LiUNA Chicago Laborers District Council, Chicago Regional Council of Carpenters, Iron Workers Local Union #1, Administrative District Council 1 of Illinois, Construction and General Laborers’ District Council of Chicago & Vicinity Laborers’ Political Action and Education League, Finishing Trades of Chicago Coop, PAC, Painters District Council #14

Endorsements for Angelique Collins:
Annazette Collins, former Democratic member of the Illinois State Senate, representing the 5th district from 2011 to 2013, who previously served in the Illinois House of Representatives representing the 10th District from 2001 to 2011.

Endorsements for William Calloway:
Calloway said his whole campaign strategy has been “Grassroots,” from the beginning and he hasn’t received any endorsements.

Endorsements for Curtis Tarver II:
Chicago Tribune, Equality Illinois, Chicago Latino Pac and support from (7th) Ald. Greg Mitchell.

Endorsements for Grace Chan McKibben:
South Side Democracy For America (DFA), the Illinois National Organization for Women (NOW), and the Independent Voters of Illinois Independent Precinct Organization (IVI-IPO).

Endorsements for Ann Marie Miles:
As of Herald press time no endorsements for Miles have been announced.