U. of C. launches Molecular Engineering School


The Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering is the first of its kind twice over — it is the first dedicated molecular engineering school in the United States, and it is the 129-year-old university’s first engineering school.

The Pritzker Family Foundation gave $100 million for the effort, turning the 2011-founded Institute for Molecular Engineering (IME), a joint project of the U. of C. and Argonne National Laboratory, into a standalone school.

The Molecular Engineering School will teach quantum engineering, biotechnology and immuno-engineering, advanced materials and energy storage. Matthew Tirrell, a chemical engineer who has headed IME since 2011, will lead the new school.

The U. of C. now has 14 programs: the Biological Sciences, Humanities, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences divisions; the schools of Business, Divinity, Continuing Liberal and Professional Studies, Public Policy Studies, Law, Medicine, Molecular Engineering and Social Service Administration; the undergraduate College and the Oriental Institute.